Thoughts on “Zelda: Breath of the Wild”

A little while ago, in anticipation for Nintendo’s presentation at E3 this year, I wrote a post detailing what I was hoping for in regards to the new Zelda game, which was going to be the main showcase at said presentation. Now, since E3 has come to pass and I’ve learned a ton about the new game, I thought I’d run through the list I wrote and talk about whether my hopes were met or not.

So let’s jump right into it!

When the live stream of Nintendo’s presentation took place, I wasn’t at home, so I just watched the footage later in the day when it was uploaded to YouTube. The first thing I watched was the official trailer:

And you can probably guess that my reaction was an embarrassing combination of big stupid grins and weird squealing noises. It was so much to take in! Voice acting! The gorgeous aesthetic! The glorious music! Link in a suit of silver armor! The wide, open landscapes just waiting to be explored! The new mechanics like cooking and the Sheikah Slate! And so on and so forth and what have you!

Watching the gameplay footage afterward was possibly even more exciting. I was positively floored by everything I saw, and according to Nintendo, they only showed about one percent of the whole game at E3. ONE PERCENT! I fully expect that this game is going to take me months to finish, and I’m sure I’m going to be fully invested every step of the way.

To elaborate, here are the bullet points of what I was hoping for and details on whether I got it:

“A title. I’m really, really sick of calling it “Zelda Wii U.” I’d like to know the final title, whatever it may be. I enjoy my Wii U and my games for it, but let’s face it: “Wii U” is pretty much the dumbest console name ever.”

Thank goodness! No more “Zelda Wii U!” The newest game in the franchise is officially titled The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. To be honest, my first thought about the title was something like: “. . . Really? That’s it? That’s the title for the new Zelda game? Breath of the Wild? What the heck does that even mean?”

As I examined the trailer more and watched the gameplay footage, though, the title grew on me pretty quickly. The game seems largely centered around the idea of exploring the wilderness of Hyrule. You fight for survival, you hunt and cook, you gather weapons and other useful items for yourself, and you have much more free reign on where you can go and when than in previous Zelda games. That’s incredibly exciting to me, and I think the title fits it perfectly!

zelda-breath-of-the-wild-0005-1500x844

“A full trailer. I want to see the characters. I want to get an idea of the story. I want to see many, many more examples of what is going to make this game awesome and what is going to make it stand out in the Zelda series.”

Well, I definitely got a full trailer! I didn’t get exactly what I was hoping for here, though. You don’t really see any characters besides Link, and you just hear the voice of another, unknown character. As for the story, there are only vague hints about what it could be, particularly with that evil purple cloud thing at around the two-minute mark and the multi-legged guardian thingamawhatsits.

On the other hand, I did get many examples of what’s going to make this game awesome and how it’ll stand out! Everything from the hunting and gathering mechanics to little details like using different clothes for different weather environments to exploring the futuristic-looking shrines and giving your Sheikah Slate new abilities — it’s all so compelling even just to watch! Actually playing it, though? Man . . . I can hardly wait to experience that!

“Lots and lots of quality gameplay footage. I want to see this game in action. I don’t want to see TOO much for fear of spoilers, but I want to get a good idea of what it will feel like to play this game.”

Oh, yes. Heck yes. There were several videos — quite lengthy, too — that showcased the game in action, and I gobbled most of them up. To avoid spoilers, I didn’t watch one particular video in which the player journeyed outside the starting area. But my gosh, just watching all that gameplay in the first area of the game fascinated me. I can see myself spending hours and hours just exploring and messing around with the environment in various ways, let alone actually spending time trying to figure out how to progress the story!

Zelda_E3_11am_SCRN073.0.0

“A music sampling. This will hopefully come with the trailer, but I’d like to hear some of the music from the new game! The Zelda series is well-known for its excellent music, and I can’t wait to get an earful of yet another amazing soundtrack.”

Do I really need to elaborate on this one? The music in the trailer is fantastic. No idea if it’ll be like that in the game, since the music in the gameplay footage is pretty quiet and piano-based, but who knows?

“Reassurance. This is basically a summary of all of the above. After hopefully getting to see and hear all of this, I want to be reassured that the wait will, indeed, be worth it.”

The short answer: yes. I’ve been reassured. The wait will be more than worth it.

The long answer:

This game looks freaking incredible. Everything about it is utterly captivating. The visuals are stunning. The gameplay looks fun and fluid, and it appears to be keeping a great balance of familiar and innovative. It sounds great, both the soft piano music and the myriad of nature sounds.

But besides all of that, what makes me the most excited is this. I’ve seen just one percent of the whole game, and I’m already astounded by what I’ve seen. How many more amazing surprises will this game hold? We’ve only seen a small portion of the enormous game map. We haven’t seen any towns. We haven’t even had the tiniest glimpse of a dungeon!

Clearly, Nintendo is putting their time to good use with this game. It may have been frustrating having to deal with two delays, but after what I’ve seen, I’m completely willing to let that frustration slide. 2017 is quite a ways off still, but when Breath of the Wild is finally released, I’m sure we’re going to find that the wait was worth every second.

I’m pumped. This game is going to knock my socks off. I’m sure of it.

zelda_nx_main-1200x675

I hope you’re as excited as I am! What are you most looking forward to about the game? Let me know in the comments!


NEXT TIME ON “OH, THE HUMANITY!”: I talk about Harry Potter and how it has inspired me and helped shape me into who I am today. Stay tuned!

4 Comments

  1. I am hoping to somehow afford an NX on which to play this game – if that isn’t possible, for whatever reason, I’ll plump for a Wii U and get Breath of the Wild for that. It might be the only game I get for it, but it’s the only one I’d ever need.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

