Which Comes First, the Book or the Movie?

I’ve been wondering lately . . . I usually read the book before I see the movie. But should I change that habit?

I mean, when I read a book, everything is formed in my imagination, and so when I see the movie and things don’t match up, I get upset. Irrational, perhaps, but it happens to a lot of us. However, because I love movies as well as books, I really would like to be able to appreciate both a book and its movie adaptation, even if it isn’t a particularly good adaptation.

How might I do this?

Movie+vs+book_ff37af_4141429.

Well, I’m starting to think that maybe I ought to start watching film adaptations of books first. That way, I won’t find anything to nitpick about the movie (at least in terms of adaptation) when I watch it for the first time. Then, when I read the book, I can get the whole story and recreate it in my head, while still being able to appreciate the movie because I saw it first.

I have done this a couple of times already. To pick one example, I watched the Lord of the Rings trilogy many times before I finally read the books, and I now appreciate both versions of the story. Maybe it’ll work again.

What do you guys think? Yay or nay?

4 thoughts on “Which Comes First, the Book or the Movie?

  1. I have the same problem! It’s gotten so “bad” that my friends claim they’d rather not watch movies with me because all I’ll do is either complain or ruin the ending. Obviously, I don’t see it this way, but to preserve harmony in my social circle I’ve also tried reversing the process (Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ender’s Game immediately come to mind). However, once I’ve read the book I can never re-watch the movie. I’ll always question why the writer or director made certain choices or altered certain pieces.

    Like

    1. Lol, I haven’t watched or read it yet. I was planning on watching it first, though, even before I wrote this post, so I guess we’ll see.

      Like

Leave a Comment